Histones are the main protein components of chromatin. They act as spools around which DNA winds, and they play a role in gene regulation. There are a total of six classes of histones (H1, H2A, H2B, H3, H4, and H5). Covalent modification of histones (e.g., their acetylation, methylation, phosphorylation, etc.) controls the degree to which chromatin is active or inactive.

Subhash C. Pandey

Department of Psychiatry, University of Illinois at Chicago and Jesse Brown VA Medical Center, Chicago, IL, USA

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Anxiety and Depression 101

Anxiety and Depression 101

Everything you ever wanted to know about. We have been discussing depression and anxiety and how different information that is out on the market only seems to target one particular cure for these two common conditions that seem to walk hand in hand.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment